Eight Limbs of Yoga Dharma Talk

We practice yoga in order to achieve the union of the mind, body, and spirit. Authentically practicing yoga means including all eight limbs in your practice.

The eight limbs of yoga are often represented as a tree or plant with the Yama and Niyama as the roots. Asana (postures) is not the whole tree, but one part, like the trunk. The leaves and branches are Pranayama (control of the breath and life force), Pratyahara (control of the senses), Dharana (concentration), Dhyana (meditation), and Samadhi (total bliss & interconnection).

What do the Eight Limbs of Yoga mean to you? We would love to hear from you at hello@yogawellspring.com!